Scroll to content
Growing Together Federation home page

Growing Together Federation

Interactive Bar

Contents Slideshow

The Governing Body

Governor Information - Growing Together Federation

The Growing Together Federation is a federation formed between Bowerdean, Mapledean & Henry Allen Nursery Schools. They are the only stand alone maintained Nursery Schools in Buckinghamshire. The federation started on 1.9.2017. Our Governing Body is made up of representatives from the local authority, community, parents and staff. They meet together termly at full governor meetings and within committees covering pupil progress, premises, finance, curriculum and personnel. Governors take an active role in monitoring the services and providing a clear path of progress and development.


  • The school is accountable to the Governing Body.
  • The Chair of Governors is Mrs Karen Bates.


If you would like to speak to Karen then please contact her: 

Phone: 01494 726257


School Governance

This is currently carried out by a Governing Body. Members of the Governing Body make important decisions about the school for example teaching & learning, safeguarding, policies, recruitment, building & premises, health & safety and financial & budgetary matters.  They ensure the nursery is governed in accordance with legal requirements and they support and challenge the Headteacher.


If you would like to know more or are interested in being a Parent Governor, please let the Headteacher know.

Governors 2022 / 2023


Mrs Karen Bates – Chairperson – Local Authority Governor – Term of office ends September 2025

Mrs Zoë Staines – Co-Headteacher, Bowerdean Nursery

Mrs Linda Lyons – Co-Headteacher, Mapledean Nursery

Mrs Charlie MacDonald – Co-Headteacher, Henry Allen Nursery

Mrs Julie Manning – Co-Headteacher, Henry Allen Nursery

Mrs Kym Dawkins – Co-opted Governor – Term of office ends February 2024

Miss Sara Ovey – Staff Governor – Term of office ends October 2024

Mr Chris Chilton - Co-opted Governor - Term of office ends September 2026

Ms Lisa Spain - Parent Governor - Term of office ends September 2026

Mrs Emma Lad – Associate Governor – Term of office ends August 2025

Mrs Dee Snudden - Co-opted Governor - Term of office ends December 2024

Mrs Janine Flanders - Co-opted Governor - Term of office ends August 2025

Mrs Jo Pearce  – Clerk to the Governors

Miss Dawn Raphael – Bursar  – Finance Committee – Observer

Mrs Julia Collins – Bursar – Finance Committee – Observer



Committee Structure

Governor Attendance 2022-2023

Governors are asked to declare any pecuniary interest.  


  • Mrs Macdonald is a governor at Hyde Heath Infant School



We are maintained Nursery Schools.


Local Authority funding for the Nursery comes in the form of  funding for our 2-year olds (15 hours) , funding for our 3-4 year olds (15 hours or 30 hours) and of a lump sum received as a maintained Nursery. ​There are some paying sessions subject to availability.

​There are no employees earning a gross annual salary of £100,000 or more.